Buzz, Muskoka Leon's

Retailer of the Year

Terry Leon, President & CEO of Leon’s Furniture, was named Distinguished Retailer of the Year by the Retail Council of Canada. As a locally owned and operated franchise, we are proud to be associated with Leon’s Furniture. Below you will find Furniture Today’s article, which can also be read here.

Terry Leon named Canada’s Distinguished Retailer of Year

Retail Council of Canada honors Leon’s Furniture leader
Michael J. Knell — Furniture Today, May 12, 2015

TORONTO — The Retail Council of Canada has named Terry Leon, longtime president and CEO of Leon’s Furniture, the recipient of this year’s Distinguished Canadian Retailer of the Year Award.
The award will be presented at the council’s Excellence in Retailing Awards Gala, which will be held as part its annual Store 2015 conference June 2.

“We are thrilled to recognize and honor Mr. Leon for his retail vision, passion and leadership in Canada,” said RCC President and CEO Diane Brisebois. “Under Mr. Leon’s guidance, the family business that began over a century ago has continued to flourish and enjoy a leading market position in the retail industry.”

Leon has been CEO of Leon’s Furniture since 2005 and has president since 2002. In his career with the family-managed and publicly held furniture retailer, he has held a number of positions. He was named corporate counsel in 1984 and vice president, chief financial officer and secretary in 1989.

When Leon’s completed its acquisition of The Brick in 2013, he became CEO for both divisions while continuing as president of the Leon’s division.

He is the first Canadian furniture retailer to be named recipient of this award. In 2008, Bill Comrie, founder of the The Brick, received the council’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

The RCC’s Distinguished Retailer of the Year Award recognizes a retail leader who has led his or her company to outstanding business success and who has consistently demonstrated a commitment to the communities they operate within. The recipient is seen as a role model because of his exceptional leadership within the corporation, in the retail industry in Canada and in the community at large.

The 2014 winner of the award was Larry Rosen of the Harry Rosen men’s wear chain. Other winners include Stephen Wetmore of Canadian Tire and Heather Reisman of Indigo Books & Music.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *